New York State requires anyone over the age of 16 fishing for freshwater species by angling, spearing, hooking, longbow and tip-ups to retain a fishing license. According to the New York DEC website, anyone 16 or older must posses a fishing license if they are fishing for frog species by spearing, catching with hands or by the use of a club/hook. It’s also necessary for those who are fishing for freshwater bait fish for personal use.
There are certain circumstances when a fishing license isn’t necessary; when fishing on a licensed fishing preserve, during the free fishing weekend (June 27-28, 2015), at a free fishing clinic, if you are a resident landowner primarily engaged in farming, if you are a farm fish pond license holder, if you are a Native American living and fishing on reservation land or if you are a patient residing at a qualifying U.S. Veterans Administration hospital or facility in New York State.
Fishing licenses can cost various amounts depending if you want an annual license, lifetime, etc.
An annual resident fishing license is $25 for those ages 16-69 and $5 for those ages 70 and older. A seven day license for NY residents is $12 and a one day license is $5. Lifetime freshwater fishing licenses are $460 for people ages 16-69 and $65 for people ages 70 and older.
Some people qualify for free and reduced prices on fishing licenses. Those people include active duty military, military veterans with a 40 percent or greater disability, senior citizens (70 and older), legally blind and non-resident students attending a NY state college/university full-time.
There are many locations where you can purchase fishing licenses such as local town offices, local bait shops and large corporations such as Walmart, Dicks Sporting Goods, Field and Stream, etc.
If you are caught fishing without a license, you are fined.
Below is the link to the New York State DEC website for all fishing rules and regulations.